Microblog Mondays: Parental Limits

Since I last posted about them, E. has lost both of his top front teeth.

His smile has changed irrevocably, as I knew it would, but it is still adorable.

And I’ve found one of my limits as a parent.

It turns out I can handle vomit, poop, wee, blood, bumps and bruises and fevers, but I cannot pull out a tooth when asked.

I’m not sure if it’s the thought of physically pulling the tooth out, or the fear that I would fail to pull it out and hurt E., or what, but even the idea of it makes me feel like someone’s running their nails down a chalkboard.

Luckily Q. isn’t remotely squeamish about such things. He pulled out the first one a couple of weeks ago at E’s request and pulled out the other one last night at dinner when it was flapping back and forth as E was trying to eat a hamburger.

Q. was quick and professional.

E. was brave.

And I tried not to shriek EEEEEEWWWWWWWWWW!

Do you have a surprising limit (as a parent or elsewhere in your life)? If so, do you have a partner, other relative, or friend who can step in when needed?

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

6 Comments

Filed under E.- the sixth year, Microblog Mondays

6 responses to “Microblog Mondays: Parental Limits

  1. Jill

    I already know I will be no help in the loose teeth department! Just reading about them make me squeamish! I dread when my kids get to that stage because EW! It is the one part of parenthood I cannot handle lol

  2. I can’t watch her brush her teeth. I can’t deal with spit toothpaste, it makes me want to hurl. Thankfully my husband can do this and can’t see what the deal is.

  3. P.S. How much does the tooth fairy leave in your neck of the woods?

  4. Turia

    E gets a toonie (a $2 coin), but that’s cheaper than the going rate in his class apparently, which boggles the mind.

  5. It’s different, but not that different really perhaps, when I found I couldn’t have limits when my mother had dementia and was dying. Still, I’m not sure I could pull teeth either! Like you, I’d be scared of hurting them. I remember my mother doing it for us – she was ruthless, but effective!

  6. I couldn’t pull my own teeth as a child. I only trusted my grandfather to do it. Luckily for me, my teenage son doesn’t mind pulling my daughter’s teeth because I could not do it. I mean, I guess I could force myself to do it, if I absolutely had to, but I would probably need a shot of vodka to make it happen! (I’m only half-joking…)

Leave a comment