This is love

We had a big blizzard come in yesterday. It started in the late morning and it didn’t stop until the wee hours of the morning. I took P. in a sled to the school when it was time to pick up her brother.

As much as I would have loved a snow day (today being Terrible Tuesday #4), there was no such luck: the snow stopped in enough time for most universities in the area to decide they could resume their normal operations by this morning.

And so, while I showered and got dressed and made tea at 5:45 this morning, Q. went out into the dark. He got the car ready. He shoveled the parking pad. He shoveled a clear path (as wide as the car) into the unplowed street until he reached the middle, where there were established ruts the car could follow. He ran along behind me until I reached the intersection, in case the car got stuck when I tried to push through the pile of snow left by the plow (which had only just made its first pass along that road).

The car skittered and jerked and slid, but I got out successfully.

Q. waved in my rear-view mirror, and then turned to tackle the 30 cm of snow the plow had just dumped on the sidewalk in front of our house. I know him- I know he was thinking that he had just enough time to clear that section of sidewalk (again) before going in to shower and get both kids up for the day. No one would struggle to walk in front of our house.

He made sure I would be safe. He made sure we all would be safe.

He is a good man.

6 Comments

Filed under Choose Happiness, Daily Life

6 responses to “This is love

  1. rose

    THAT IS ABSOLUTELY LOVE. And lovely to have that support and wonderful that you recognize it.
    Only just found you. Hope you post often and regularly. I will be checking in hope. THANK YOU!!!!

  2. Love, Canadian style!! lol Hope you are all staying safe & warm!

  3. He is a good man indeed. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: What matters most | Res Cogitatae

Leave a comment