Procrastinate no more!

Microblog_MondaysI am a creature of habit.

I am also a creature of to-do lists.

Nothing helps quiet my mind better than lots of lovely organized planning. With lists full of items I can cross off.

I like crossing things off. I have been known to add things on to a list that I have already done just so I can cross them off.

For years now I’ve been using the same annual diary/agenda/planner: the Moleskine 12 month weekly planner, large, black, soft cover. It is absolutely perfect for me because one side has the days of the week and the other side has a ruled page for “notes and ideas” (according to Moleskine). I use it for my to-do lists:

This was my week starting the 29th of February 2016 (right in the middle of semester):

2017-01-10-11-28-01

This was my week starting the 6th of June 2016 (so the week before the week P was born):

2017-01-10-11-27-35

Q and I use Google Calendar (we have a joint calendar plus separate work calendars), and there is a paper calendar hanging in our kitchen (usually train-themed, as chosen by E), but these little black books are my brain. I would be completely lost without them. I keep them all because I like the idea that I can look back at these snippets of my day-to-day existence.

And yet, EVERY YEAR, I have the same argument with myself.

They’re not cheap- $25.00 on Amazon or in the stores. And I know that they get discounted once the next year starts. So every year I debate in December whether I should buy one at full price or wait to get a discounted one.

The thing is, the discounted ones are never easily found online. I have to physically go search the stores. Some years I luck out. Other years I have to buy one that isn’t quite right- it’s the pocket version, or it has a hard cover, or it’s the 18 month planner.

This year was no different. I quibbled and delayed until they were all sold out and the best match I could find online was a green one (GREEN! THE HORROR!) that was hard cover AND pocket-sized AND still full-price.

I don’t have time to scour the shops to save 50%. So I ordered the green one and it was finally the straw that broke the camel’s back.

I love my planner and I want it to be exactly the same every.single.year.

It gets more use than probably 90% of what is in our house.

So I swear that this year will be the last year where I have to buy the wrong product because I’m too miserly to buy what I really want.

Do you have a yearly planner you can’t live without? Do you also try to play the waiting game to get it on sale?

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

3 Comments

Filed under Butter scraped over too much bread (a.k.a. modern motherhood), Microblog Mondays, My addled brain

3 responses to “Procrastinate no more!

  1. Ha! I almost ended up doing the same thing this year. I hate waiting for things to be delivered, and paying full price, so I was intent on buying a new journal at Target or another brick and mortar store, but the first couple of places only had the green, unruled or dotted, etc. I did end up victorious however, because I stumbled across my Harry Potter themed one at Barnes and Noble and I get a discount there as a member ;). I do bullet journaling, so the 8.25×5 Moleskine is the one I use as it fits into any of my purses or camera bags.

  2. I’m kind of cracking up now because I would do the same thing. I just got a Passion Planner, full sized (squee!) and I can’t contain my excitement. None of my other planners have come close to being my “brains” on paper. I think this is really going to help me stay organized.

  3. I used to use a small pocket planner to keep track of everything, including my wonky cycle. I think it was in 2014 I decided to go digital and so now I use the calendar in my phone and a note app to jot things down I don’t want to forget. It works for me but I do sometimes miss the lovely newness of an empty planner…..

Leave a Reply

