Winter is Coming

We had our first big freeze last night, severe enough that Q. came home early from work to make sure he could roll up the hoses and put the cover on the air conditioner.

Last night, once both kids were in bed, I thought to myself, “It would be a really good idea to go and find all the cold weather gear now.”

And then I watched an episode of House of Cards with Q. instead.

This inevitably led to me running around in a mad panic this morning when I woke up and discovered that yes, it really was -12 outside and yes, there had been a dusting of snow. Luckily I knew where all the winter gear was and E. went off to school this morning in snow pants, jacket, neck warmer, waterproof mittens, hat, and winter boots (last year’s- he says they still fit, so the ones I bought on sale in the spring are still in the box for now). When we left, P. was marching around the house in her new (to her) snow boots and looking deeply pleased with herself.

At drop off, I couldn’t help but notice three or four kids who were wearing snow pants that stopped at the tops of their boots. I’d have been right there with them except two weeks ago I had the sense to realize that E. was going to need new snow pants this year and I asked a friend for a recommendation as I hadn’t been happy with our two previous pairs. The brand she recommended happened to be on sale that weekend so I ordered E. a pair along with a hat and a balaclava, and a neck warmer for P.

I could be feeling smug about how well prepared we are for winter (we put our winter tires on the car at the end of October) except for the fact that I have over 150 bulbs I haven’t put into my front garden yet.

Luckily it’s supposed to be well above zero again by the middle of the week, so I should be able to get them planted.

Are you ready for winter?

1 Comment

Filed under Blink and you'll miss it, Daily Life, E.- the seventh year, P.- the second year

One response to “Winter is Coming

  1. Yes, that WAS pretty nippy out there this morning, wasn’t it?? We had to be at an appointment in the city for 9:30 a.m. ( = driving on the highway & then down Yonge Street in morning rush hour traffic…!) and I was worried what with all the dire predictions of massive snowfall, etc. — so the light dusting we ended up with was a welcome surprise. I haven’t resorted to boots yet, but I did pull out my new never-yet-worn down-filled jacket to wear for the first time (as well as a new tuque and my old gloves — and I needed them!).

Leave a Reply

