Microblog Mondays: Unwanted Houseguests

Ants are trying to move into our house.

Specifically, they’re trying to add our dining room to their territory. They come out from under the baseboards somewhere and then fan out to search for food.

I repeat: they’re in my dining room. You know, the place where we eat every.single.meal.

The dining room is carpeted (don’t ask me why- previous owners of this house did some crazy things).

I have two small children.

I vacuum after every meal and yet the ants always, always, manage to find something to keep them coming back.

I feel like I’m Sisyphus.

But, as I keep reminding myself, it could be worse. Back in November 2015, when we discovered that indoor cats can too get fleas, I was vacuuming the entire house every day, including all furniture and baseboards, while pregnant with P.

This too shall pass.

But they sure are a pain right now.

Any suggestions on how to get rid of ants when they’re in a spot where you can’t use a trap?

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Microblog Mondays

4 responses to “Microblog Mondays: Unwanted Houseguests

  1. Yeah tell me about it. I faced this problem when i was in Bengalure..all 4 years i was living there. They were hard to get rid off !

  2. Gosh I don’t know. But if you find an answer let me know. Ours are not usually in the house but we have an ant empire in the back yard, and they go into the foundation.

    My parents believed in carpets carpets everywhere (except kitchen and bathroom). This is one thing I do differently: l love my hardwood! We have carpet in the basement only and it is dirty for half the year (because I only have time/ energy to shampoo it once or twice a year.)

  3. Chris

    Ugh! We also have ants. Despite having a pest company come quarterly this year they are here in abundance. We’ve tried everything. Good luck.

  4. Ugh! UGH! ACK! I HATE ANTS! We had little sugar ants in our kitchen/house when I was growing up ( and my dad probably still has them, I don’t ask). I have a mild phobia of them these days.
    I also don’t really any suggestions on how to help. I know my dad used some liquid borax (and sugar?) for ants, but I have no idea how well it worked. Are you able to put a trap somewhere under the house or at the point of entry? Good luck! I squirm for you.

Leave a Reply

