Microblog Mondays: Teeth

Last week we took our cat to the vet for ridiculously expensive unavoidable dental work.

When we picked her up at the end of the day, the vet’s administrative assistant presented us with detailed care instructions, a bag of pain medication, and a small pill container which contained the two teeth the dentist had removed.

I’m not at all sure why they did this. To prove they took out the teeth they said they did? To demonstrate the necessity of removing the teeth by allowing us to witness for ourselves their state of decay? To provide us with souvenirs?

I was more than a little weirded out by the whole thing, but I had E. with me and he thought it was amazing, so we brought the teeth home. They sat in their container on the kitchen table (where E. had abandoned them) until dinner, when Q. asked that we not share the meal with the teeth (fair).

At some point the container migrated upstairs to our room, where it’s currently sitting on my night table, right next to where the cat herself usually likes to sleep during the day (weird, no?).

Today, I realized that I’ve also got three or four of E’s teeth stashed in my sock drawer, a result of having the tooth fairy visit right before I go to bed and then not wanting to throw the teeth in the garbage in the upstairs bathroom in case E. somehow found them.

I’m a tooth hoarder.

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

7 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, E.- the seventh year, Microblog Mondays

7 responses to “Microblog Mondays: Teeth

  1. That’s funny! Sounds like you are a reluctant tooth hoarder, or perhaps an accidental tooth hoarder. I suppose there are worse things to hoard?

  2. It is actually strange as well as a co-incidence. Do I understand your tooth/teeth storing/hoarding tendency? Of course I do since a few weeks back, when my 6 year old son’s milk 2 teeth came off, I stored them in a small box against the elders’ advise. They advised me to bury them in the soil. I mean to store all his 20 teeth as and when they fell off as a sort of souvenir.

  3. As my daughter is testing all her teeth for her first wiggles may I ask. How much does the tooth fairy give in your neck of the woods?

  4. Mel

    Laughing over the idea of saving the cat’s teeth, but then again, I am a tooth hoarder, too. I don’t know what to do with the twins’ teeth. I don’t want to throw them out, but I don’t really want to keep them, either.

  5. Ha! I thought I was the only weirdo with baby teeth in my sock drawer! But then, I kept my wisdom teeth that the oral surgeon had given me so there’s that…..

  6. Turia

    So I had intended to keep the very first one E. lost, but the others have migrated into my sock drawer because I can’t think of what else to do with them at 10 p.m. when the tooth fairy gathers them up and then I keep forgetting they’re in there.

    @Journeywoman- the tooth fairy brings a toonie (a $2 coin) for each tooth in our house (plus a small book with the very first tooth), but I’ve been informed by E. that several kids at his school score $5 per tooth (which strikes me as extortionate).

  7. I actually found a couple of my old teeth in jewelry boxes while I was cleaning out a closet at my mother’s while on vacation last week. And I’ve given lots of tooth fairy bells from Birks as christening or first birthday gifts to friends’/cousins’ babies over the years. (The bell unscrews & there’s a little compartment inside where you can keep the tooth.) But cats’ teeth?? Hmmmm…

Leave a Reply

