Microblog Mondays: Rake

Q. and I have recently started watching an Australian television show on Netflix called Rake, which is set in Sydney and follows a brilliant but deeply flawed barrister. We were tipped off it was available by an English colleague of Q’s who was sick of watching Dr. Who and Sherlock because they’d become too similar and too self-referential.

We’re continuing to slowly work our way through the Dr. Who reboot, but we’ve hit season 8 and I don’t like the new not new anymore but we take so long to watch it he’s new to us Doctor very much and there are still episodes that make it difficult for me to sleep afterwards so it’s good to have an alternative.

Rake is the sort of Aussie television that just cannot be successfully reproduced anywhere else (I gather there is a U.S. version of the show which has been a miserable failure, which doesn’t surprise me in the least). It’s irreverent and lewd and profane and deeply, deeply funny (although it definitely has points where Q. thinks it’s hilarious and I’m finding it to be just too much, which is typical, in my experience, of the difference between Aussie and Canadian humour).

It’s started off with such a flourish I’m a bit worried about where it’s going to go, as most of the other television series we’ve enjoyed watching have clearly dropped in quality (or just outright jumped the shark- Sherlock, I’m looking at you) as their run continued.

At this point, though, it’s fun to have something to look forward to.

What’s the best thing you’re watching right now? Why do you like it so much?

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

6 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Microblog Mondays

6 responses to “Microblog Mondays: Rake

  1. I am not a fan of Peter Capaldi either.

    The best thing I am watching right now is old episodes of ER. I forgot how good it was. If you’ve never seen it, you are in for a really good show.

  2. I recently got caught up on Orphan Black. It’s very thought-provoking about the intersection of humanity and technology. Of the 4 seasons, some were more sharp-jumpy than others, bu overall, very good.

  3. I haven’t watched Rake but the last few I loved were House of Cards, GoT and House. I am hearing a lot about 13 reasons why and would like to check that out 🙂

  4. Mel

    Maybe you’d like Dirk Gently? We loved that, and it’s very Who-ish without being Who. And not scary, just quirky.

    Have you ever watched The Thick of It (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Thick_of_It)? I saw that it’s now on Netflix. I’ve only seen the spinoff (In the Loop). Not suitable for work, but this clip just about sums up the show: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cg-pnGFbwMQ

  5. My current favorite show is This is Us. It makes me sob almost every episode, but it hits so close to home in so many ways I’m riveted to it every time. I watch other shows, but nothing speaks to me quite like This is Us.

  6. Turia

    Thanks for all the viewing suggestions! Some great ideas here. I really want to watch House of Cards and This is Us, but I’m not sure Q. is as interested. And Game of Thrones is too graphic for my taste.

Leave a Reply

