Microblog Mondays: Tale as Old as Time

When my sisters and I were little we had a tradition of going to see every Disney animated film in the theatre. Originally this was less a conscious tradition and more a “going to the movies with your parents and siblings” thing, but as we got older it became a deliberate choice. We would rearrange our schedules to make it work, even after we started university.

Our first film was The Little Mermaid in 1989. My youngest sister was five, so it probably wasn’t an appropriate choice (sorry, third child). As labmonkey pointed out, exposure to Ursula at that young age possibly explains our youngest sister’s long-term fear of the ocean and the creatures that live in it.

Our unbroken streak lasted until 2002, when we did see Lilo & Stitch but then didn’t watch Treasure Planet, partly because at that stage I’d moved across the pond to start my graduate work and partly because it looked like such a terrible film that we weren’t inspired enough to make it happen.

The Little Mermaid; The Rescuers Down Under; Beauty and the Beast; Aladdin; The Lion King; Pocahontas; The Hunchback of Notre Dame; Hercules; Mulan; Tarzan; Fantasia 2000; The Emperor’s New Groove; Atlantis: The Lost Empire; Lilo & Stitch.

14 films.

14 years.

We grew up together with the music from Disney soundtracks running through our heads. I can still sing, letter perfect, “Under the Sea”, “Circle of Life”, “I’ll Make A Man Out Of You” and a host of others. We have an entire series of sibling in-jokes that require, for example, only that one of us says “Llama face!” to the others to make us all fall about in helpless laughter.

Those movie trips are some of my best memories. We were children, then teenagers, then young adults, but the cartoons were always there. We had our quarrels as siblings do, but our bond never weakened, because between our father’s military career and our parents’ divorce we figured out very quickly that we could only ever truly count on each other to be there.

And then real life intervened and we all grew up too much and the tradition died.

Until now.

Yesterday, my sisters and I went to the movie theatre to watch the new Beauty and the Beast.

We were without partners, without children.

We worked out that the last time the three of us were together, just the three of us, was in the fall of 2010, when I was barely pregnant with E., just before my youngest sister moved to California.

We ate popcorn and Swedish berries.

We laughed and we jumped in our seats.

We bit our tongues so we wouldn’t sing along to the songs that we STILL know, after all these years.

We had so much fun.

I hope we get to do it again.

Do you love Disney animated films too? What’s your favourite?

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Microblog Mondays

5 responses to “Microblog Mondays: Tale as Old as Time

  1. Isaac and I went to see it with my youngest sister a couple weeks ago. Halfway through, be was all, “Wait, I’ve seen this movie before.” Lol. He was not super impressed. But my sister and I were in heaven. It was so much fun!

  2. Mel

    This made me teary, and I’m not even one of your sisters! I do love Disney films, though I found that I liked the new Beauty and the Beast better than the cartoon. I thought Belle was a little more complex.

  3. That’s really lovely! I’m one of three sisters, and can just imagine your joy in doing this.

    (PS. Email me – you won a postcard!)

  4. Turia

    @Sarah- I mostly went to see it with my sisters because there was no way E. was going to be able to handle it. He was supposed to go to a birthday party at the theatre the week before and after watching the animated one as a test he pronounced it “much too scary to ever see again”. So then I had the excuse to try to arrange things with my sisters so I could see it!

  5. chris

    I love this! I’m an only child and I love the tradition. But, I also love Disney animated movies. I’d only seen a couple until I was an adult- my parents didn’t go to movies. But my husband and I see almost all of them. And this weekend he got the old Beauty and the Beast so I could see it before we go see the new one. And yes we do go to almost all of them even though we don’t have kids. Although sometimes we’ll go with my niece. LOL

Leave a Reply

