Microblog Mondays: 21st century parenting

On Friday, I had a stranger turn up, not unexpectedly, on my doorstep.

Why was he there?

Because he was one half of a gay couple who had just had a baby via surrogate, and I had 150 oz of breast milk in my chest freezer that P would never be able to drink as I pumped it before I realized she had MSPI and cut dairy and soy out of my diet.

The other father had posted a message looking for potential milk donations on a Fakebook page dedicated to facilitating the sharing of breast milk. I’d seen the message and responded and, about eighteen hours later, there we were.

I sent him off with the milk and a box of 0-3 and 3-6 month clothes that P had long outgrown but were too seasonally inappropriate for my nephew, Spud.

We were both thrilled. I didn’t have to pour that milk (the product of pumping sessions at 3 or 4 a.m. back when P. was sleeping so well as a newborn I had to protect my supply) down the drain, and he had a few days of free food for his baby plus clothes for the warmer weather (when it comes).

We’ll probably never meet again.

But that brief encounter reminded me, amidst all the doom and gloom, that many of us, most of us (I hope), just want to do what we can to help each other out.

Do you have a good news story for the week? I want to hear it!

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

6 Comments

Filed under Microblog Mondays, Nursing, Soapbox

6 responses to “Microblog Mondays: 21st century parenting

  1. Jill

    I love this! A win-win

  2. That is amazing you were able to donate it to someone local. I have always been so curious about these breastmilk sharing groups and donation banks. It is so wonderful to be able to do that.
    And you are so right…most of us just want to help each other. It sometimes just takes quieting all the noise to look around and see these random acts of kindness.

  3. nonsequiturchica

    That’s awesome! I give blood when I can, but unfortunately do not have any breast milk to donate.

  4. Mel

    I had a huge smile on my face reading this. (Even though the first sentence filled me with dread — I’m glad this was a happy story.) We need stories like this when everything in the media is doom and gloom.

  5. Aw that’s so sweet! Nice that you were able to help out.

Leave a Reply

