(Not) The First Day Back

Microblog_MondaysE should be back at school today but he’s ended up with one extra day of holidays due to vomiting yesterday. So instead he’s had a lazy day in his pjs and has been generally cheerful (once he finally stopped being too hangry to eat breakfast when he first woke up).

I’m the one who’s out of sorts.

I miss our routine.

I was looking forward to seeing all the other Mums at drop off.

I was looking forward to some quiet time when P was napping.

I was looking forward to sitting down with a cup of tea and organizing what I need to get done over the next couple of weeks. I function best with to-do lists and planning. Right now I have a whole bunch of amorphous “I should do this” thoughts floating around in my head, and I find that quite stressful. They’re easier to quiet when they’re written down somewhere.

I was looking forward to having a few hours most days without E’s incessant questions. I am so glad he is so curious but it can be exhausting, particularly when his questions outstrip my ability to give accurate, detailed answers. Currently his main interests are the universe and microbes (the macro and the micro), neither of which is an area of strength.

I feel a little guilty feeling the way I do, as E is a homebody at heart and would love nothing more than to be able to stay at home, with me, all day, every day. I get it- he’s an introvert, just like I am. The difference between us is he can recharge by being with me, whereas for me to recharge I need to be alone.

I miss school, even if he doesn’t.

If you have children, do you look forward to the end of the holidays and the return to the usual routine?

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Brave New (School) World, E.- the sixth year, Microblog Mondays

4 responses to “(Not) The First Day Back

  1. I think it’s a natural thing, honestly. Especially when they’ve been sick, which is tough on so many levels.

  2. Oh yes, yes! Or at least I used to look forward to the end of holidays and getting back to my routine when the children were home. Now they have both flown the nest and I look forward to having them home for a week or two every year 🙂

  3. Mel

    I dread the end of holidays, but I do love routine. I especially love my bullet journal and having a to-do list. If it isn’t written down, it doesn’t get done. And if I couldn’t organize my brain and had everything floating around in it, I would feel a bit mad.

  4. Missy isn’t even in school yet (well, preschool), but all our routines revolve around “term time,” too. When my husband told me he had taken an extra couple of days off, I actually had mixed feelings about it. I like having him home, but I was so ready to get back to “normal”! (I also need time by myself to recharge, which is why I look forward to nap time every day!)

Leave a Reply

