It happened before

Microblog_MondaysSomeone my stepmother knows at the gym told her that she’d seen an article about my father’s accident online.

So, of course, I did some rough Googling.

I didn’t find anything about my Dad.

I did, however, find this article, which dates from 2013. It tells the story of a fit, active 65 year old Canadian tourist who went to Barbados on vacation with his second wife and came home a quadriplegic after being smashed by a wave. He at least was bodysurfing, which makes the injury somewhat easier to understand than what happened to my Dad. He is also off the ventilator and has some movement in his extremities. I would like to hope my Dad can make similar progress eventually, but I am not sure it is likely- this gentleman breathed on his own on the beach, and my father never did.

The kicker?

He was staying at the same resort my father was.

It really makes me wonder just what is going on with their coastline.

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Grief, Microblog Mondays

5 responses to “It happened before

  1. What the actual hell.

    I am flabbergasted.

  2. I was just catching up on what happened with your father. First of all, I am so sorry this happened to your dad. And to your whole family. This indeed is a life altering experience for more than just your dad. I know you’ve been worried and stressed out. Please take good care of your health during this stressful time. (Easier said than done, I know.) Do not worry about his ability to overcome his challenges, from what you’ve written, he’s exactly the type of alpha male who can use his abilities to help himself.

  3. That is very eerie. I wouldn’t know whether to draw comfort or concern from the similarities.

  4. Mel

    It is scary to read that man’s account, especially knowing that it happened at the same resort.

  5. Wow. That’s all pretty intense. So sorry about what happened to your dad.

Leave a Reply

