The First Day

Q. and I walked E. to the school.

Q. kissed E. and headed off to work when the first bell rang.

I waited with E. until his teacher appeared.

“Go with Mr. J.,” I told him.

I gave him a gentle push in the direction of his teacher.

Clutching his lunch bag, wearing his backpack, E. followed him into the school.

He didn’t cry.

He didn’t look back.

And I didn’t cry until he was far enough inside the school that he wouldn’t be able to see me.

My baby.

A schoolboy now.

HOW did that happen?

1 Comment

Filed under Anxiety Overload, Blink and you'll miss it, Brave New (School) World, JK

One response to “The First Day

  1. It’s so hard. Hugs. I hope you did something kind for yourself today. xoxo

Leave a Reply

