Pop goes my fear

Microblog_MondaysYesterday we had a family movie afternoon (Piglet’s BIG Movie) and I made popcorn, just like I had promised E.

Not microwave popcorn.

Popcorn on the stove, with oil, and a pot, and everything.

This wouldn’t be a big deal for most people, but it was for me.

The last time I made popcorn on the stove, I was still in high school and my sisters and I set the pot on fire.

I haven’t made it since.

For some reason, when E. asked for popcorn with the movie last week, I decided it was time to get over it.

I made Q. stand in the kitchen with me.

I had to take deep breaths the entire time I was waiting for those first kernels to pop.

But I did it.

The popcorn was delicious.

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. To read the inaugural post and find out how you can participate, click here.

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Microblog Mondays

4 responses to “Pop goes my fear

  1. And isn’t it so much better than that microwave crap? So glad you got over your fear! 🙂

  2. Yay, you!! My dad used to make it in the electric frying pan.

    You can get a microwave popcorn maker, at a store like Target or Walmart. It looks like a sort of deep squared bowl with a lid. You just pour in a half-cup of popcorn, put on the lid and put it on high for 3 minutes or so, & it makes great popcorn, so much cheaper (& better for you) than the packaged stuff. I actually pop mine in a teaspoon or so of oil for just a bit of flavour but it’s not necessary.

  3. Mel

    I’m glad you got over that fear. Not least of which because popcorn is delicious.

  4. Yes! Well done you! I didn’t realize the popcorn fire had prevented you from making popcorn all this time. It’s SO tasty!

Leave a Reply

