Three can be a good number

Microblog_MondaysWe had an adventure yesterday.

We went, just the three of us, to an annual event in our city, one that I have wanted to take E. to ever since he was born. This year I thought he was finally old enough to enjoy it.

We went early, so it wouldn’t be crowded.

We left early, before E. became too exhausted.

We had a blast.

There was one moment, where E. was shrieking with laughter and applauding wildly during the Jack Russell races, when I looked at him and I didn’t see all the other families surrounding us with their multiple children, I only saw him and a lump grew in my throat as I realized just how damn lucky we are that we have him.

We rode the bus home, E. eating a bubblegum flavoured lollipop and clutching the little yellow tractor he’d selected as a present for his best stuffed dog because it was her birthday and she was so sad she couldn’t go with us.

It was easy.

It was fun.

It was a great day.

This post is part of #MicroblogMondays. For the other participants, click here.

5 Comments

Filed under E.- the fourth year, Microblog Mondays

5 responses to “Three can be a good number

  1. This makes me smile πŸ™‚

  2. J

    There will be more days like this!

  3. Mel

    Huge smile with this post. Sounds like a perfect day.

  4. I agree with all of the above comments. What a great perfect day you had. πŸ™‚

  5. Karen

    I am thinking a lot of you and so grateful to you to be putting many of my thoughts into words.
    My son is five.
    Have been trying for a second child for almost 3 years and am really torn about all of the things that you mention.
    But three is really really great right now.

Leave a Reply

