The best possible Mother’s Day present

Q. and I have a son!

He was born on Mother’s Day (8 May 2011) at 6.37 pm and weighed in at 7 lb 15 oz. He is gorgeous and perfect in every way and we are both utterly besotted with him. We were home from the hospital three hours after the birth- I had the best possible experience with my midwives and am so so so glad to have been under their care. Labour was straightforward but very intense (to put things in perspective, our midwife first came to our house at 2 pm and I was JUST starting active labour. We went to the hospital at 3, so all told were only there for about six hours.)

I’m still trying to decide what I think about pictures of him online, since I’m not sure I should make that decision for him now that he is out of the womb. But if you would like to see a pic, drop me an email (rescogitataeATgmailDOTcom) and I’ll send you one when I get a spare moment.

His first name is the same as this swimmer. And his middle name is that of the fourth gospel (after Q’s father, who died a number of years ago).

We are so lucky. He was worth every minute of the wait.

11 Comments

Filed under Baby

11 responses to “The best possible Mother’s Day present

  1. AWESOME!! I was wondering why you hadn’t updated. 🙂

    So thrilled for you, sweetie.

    xoxo

  2. Oh I’m so excited for you guys! What a wonderful Mother’s Day gift!!!

  3. Sarah

    Wow, congratulations!!! Love his name!

  4. CG

    congrats. so very happy for u guys. cant wait to hear more about the lil one.

  5. Mel

    Oh how lovely. His name is so awesome and stately. I love it. I am so happy for you both!!!

  6. Sooo happy for you!!

  7. Congratulations!!!! What an awesome mother’s day gift. I adore his name and am so excited for you! I will email you separately as I want to see a pic of that little darling.

    Enjoy these amazing days with your newborn baby!

    I can’t believe how wrong I was — I thought for sure you were having a girl…you just had a super-compact boy bump!

  8. Oh T!!!
    I have been sooooo behind the times that I totally missed this!! CONGRATULATIONS!!

  9. Pingback: The longing…and the fear | Res Cogitatae

  10. Three hours after birth!!! Whoa! So glad you had such a great experience.

  11. Pingback: ICLW | Res Cogitatae

Leave a Reply

