Less than a month to go!

How far along? Thirty-six weeks.

Sleep: Still waking up once a night for the loo, but now it seems to be closer to 5 am, which means I don’t always get a great sleep before the alarm goes off. I’m still tossing my extra pillows out of the bed…and then really noticing it in my hips in the morning. So my body can’t figure out what it wants. Our stressed cat avoided sleeping with us the first night the crib was assembled, but was back to normal the next night. She’s taken to sleeping on my hip in the wee hours of the morning, which she never used to do. Still super clingy and needing reassurance, I guess, but the good news is she’s not pulling out her fur in the same way. After the really bad patch she pulled during the baby shower she’s obviously settled down again, and the fur is starting to regrow. 

How am I feeling physically? Not too bad. Definitely noticing the extra weight and size if we go for a long walk, and rolling over in bed takes a lot of effort, but other than the usual rib pain and slightly swollen ankles, I’m still feeling pretty good. The ankles are ok if I can manage to avoid wearing socks, which I’m trying to do whenever I’m at home. I’m focusing on listening to my body and trying not to do too much- the Braxton Hicks get very strong when I overexert myself.

How am I feeling emotionally? I think I’ve come down off of the baby shower high from last week, but I still feel pretty good emotionally. I was glad to get as much organizing done as I managed last weekend, as it was really starting to stress me out having all this baby stuff spread over the entire house. I’m still not happy that the nursery isn’t perfectly finished, but I have enough sense to recognize that this is my type-A personality coming through, and that it isn’t really a big deal at this point. I know I just want to organize to make myself feel like we are completely and utterly prepared for the baby (and because I will then never be organized again!). And chances are if I get everything finished by the end of this week, I’ll then go overdue!

What have I done this week to get ready? What didn’t we get done this week?! The crib is assembled. The nursery is finished, except for the shelving in the closet (which I think Q. is going to sort out this weekend), and all the baby stuff is now in there rather than in our living room. I washed everything we’d received (although I have more stuff to do now that I’ve had a couple of packages arrive), and sorted all the clothes and linens. I added to my lists of what we still need to get pre-baby, and what we can wait on until bump arrives. We had our breast feeding class. We would have finished our childbirth classes, but our instructor was unwell, so we’ve still got one more week left with those.

Best moment? Probably getting packages in the mail. One was expected and had the various things I’d ordered online (diaper covers, change table pads, cloth wipes, pail liner, etc.). The other came this morning and was a surprise- my friend had said she would send me her old cloth diapers, which in itself was amazing, but the box also had new onesies and home-made burp cloths and a wooden rattle hand-made by her husband and all sorts of goodies! I feel like it’s Christmas!

Movement? Still the usual predictable bump. Wiggles like CRAZY if I am late with food. Falls asleep if I’m out and about. Likes to push on my ribs. Has precise active times during the day, but must be super quiet at night as I’m sleeping right through, and usually bump is asleep if I make a loo trip.

What I miss? Spring. We keep having warmer days and then another cold snap. We’re clearly making progress, but this winter has been so much longer than last year. I’m really ready to see our trees start blooming.

What I’m looking forward to? Our hospital tour is this weekend. Ideally we’re not going to be there for more than a few hours, but I’m keen to see the facilities so at least I’m not labouring in a strange place.

Milestones? Less than a month until my due date!

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy, Week-by-week

2 responses to “Less than a month to go!

  1. Hey – when you have a second and if you’re not too icked out by sharing, will you email me your address? I have something for the Bub. 🙂

    my email is serenitynowinfertile at gmail dot com.

    xoxo

  2. Mel

    Keep up the good work!!!

Leave a Reply

