Is it Wednesday already?

How far along? Twenty-five weeks.

Maternity clothes? I wore one of my maternity sweaters the other day. I didn’t like them all that much when I bought them because I didn’t have enough of a belly to make them look good (they are the sort that tie across the chest). But now it looks good. Also this week was the first week I really struggled to do up the zipper on one of my coziest (pre-pregnancy) sweatshirts- I may not be able to wear it for too much longer.

How am I looking? Good. Very obviously pregnant, and I’ve still got that estrogen-induced glow. I think I’m developing a couple of darker patches on my face, which I know is completely normal. They’re just a bit reddish- look almost like a birthmark. They’re pretty small, so it’s not a big issue. Yesterday I had my first experience with pregnancy swelling. I was out of the house and on my feet for most of the day, and when I got home and got into my pjs, I was shocked to discover that I had a huge line where my socks ended, and then giant elephant calves above that! Luckily my normal legs had returned by this morning, but I think I need to start being more careful about taking sitting breaks, and make doubly sure I get enough water (probably didn’t yesterday).

How am I feeling physically? Still pretty good, but as I said last week, things are getting a bit tougher. Q. has noticed that he has to slow his walking pace down- I hadn’t realized that I was that much slower than normal, but it’s a significant change. Bending over is definitely getting harder. And even though I’m starving all the time, I can’t seem to fit much food into my stomach- a normal-sized meal (pre-pregnancy) now leaves me absolutely stuffed to the gills and feeling a bit ill. I wasn’t really expecting that to happen this early, but I’m trying to adjust by shifting my eating from meals to more frequent snacks. I’m still having trouble sleeping- I keep waking up at 4.30. Some mornings I go back to sleep. Some mornings I’m up for the day, but I feel super rested, and some mornings I’m up for the day and feel like I’ve been hit by a truck. So I don’t get it. I’m still happily sleeping in the position I’ve used since I was seven- on my right side, with my knees tucked up. And I don’t need any extra pillows to be comfortable doing this, which I figure is not bad for this stage.

I had a dentist appointment this week (it was the week for appointments it seems), and my gums were just a disaster. There is nothing wrong with them, and I am doing everything I am supposed to be doing, but I’ve got the usual problem of pregnancy-induced bleeding.  So I’m glad I’ve been proactive about taking care of my mouth.

How am I feeling emotionally? This was a pretty good week. My mantras, and the reassurance from the midwife, has really settled down my anxiety. Plus I’ve been putting together my baby shower wish list, and it is impossible NOT to be anything other than super excited when doing that. I am the queen of planning, and it makes me SO happy when I decide on a particular brand or style of something. I’ve also spent a lot of time stressing about a surprise party that I’m throwing for Q. this weekend- I keep worrying that someone will spill the beans, or he’ll discover the various bits of food and booze I’ve stashed around the house.

What am I thinking about? Mainly Q’s party. Baby-wise, I’m still figuring out what we’re going to do when bub is really little. My ideal would be to fit the crib in our bedroom, but that may not work. Otherwise I will either buy a bassinet second-hand, or borrow a friend’s pack-n-play with bassinet attachment for the first two or three months, and then move bub into the travel crib that we want to get. We’re hoping to keep bub in our room for the first five or six months, as that gets us past the highest risk for SIDS.

What am I currently investigating? Cloth diaper wet bags, diaper bags generally (any recommendations- loves? hates?), and baby sleepers that are not coated in fire retardants (because I would rather take the risk that the crib will catch on fire than know that I am coating my baby in chemicals every evening).

Best moment? Probably our midwife appointment as it let me relax again. Or Q. getting a huge birthday kick hello from the bub.

Movement? Bub is really getting strong- even Q. has noticed the difference in the kicks he can feel. It’s nice to get some daily reassurance that there is someone in there- I can pretty much guarantee I’ll get movement when I roll onto my right side in preparation for falling asleep. It’s a nice way to end the day.

What I miss? Normal sleeping patterns.

What I’m looking forward to? This isn’t something I’m necessarily looking forward to, but I am curious about it. I have an endocrinologist appointment on Friday, and they always weigh me. So I’ll be interested to see what the result is. I’m hoping for anything under 20 pounds.

Milestones? Nothing particular this week…but there are only three more weeks until my third trimester!

1 Comment

Filed under Pregnancy, Week-by-week

One response to “Is it Wednesday already?

  1. Okay, me again…
    I am so happy that you are happily planning and feeling excited now!! 🙂 ((HUGS))
    Recommendations for diaper bag –
    One of my girlfriends just bought the Scout Journey rucksack from Petunia Pickle Bottom. I looked inside and was VERY impressed. Very, very organized, with lots of pockets. The change pad rolls up and tucks inside a holder on the flap of the bag. And it’s manly enough for Q. to use!! Here is the link: http://www.petuniapicklebottom.com/collections/scout/journeypack/
    Oh, I think you might just fall in love with it! 😉
    Whatever you end up with, make sure it’s light. You put so much stuff into it that it ends up heavy! And make sure you find one with a stroller strap!
    T …. I know I’ve said it before, but I’m so happy for you!!

Leave a Reply

