Another week!

How far along? Eleven weeks

Weight gained/lost this week? (Total weight change) +2 lbs (+3 lbs). So not impressed by this. I don’t think my eating was any different, but I’m going to have to watch my snacking and my exercise more carefully now that I can’t rely on the metformin/prednisone combo to chew up calories.

Maternity clothes? Nope.

Physical signs? Bbs and a definite bump, although given my predilection for baggy sweaters I’m in no danger of anyone noticing. I think I look like I’ve eaten a super large meal…all the time. Can’t wait to look pregnant, and not just pudgy.

Symptoms? Quite a lot of cramping this week- I guess the ute must be growing.

Emotions? Usual wild vacillating. I can definitely tell that my emotions are much less stable on days when I don’t get enough sleep. I still get a momentary panic whenever we tell someone else the news, but I am getting better at believing that this doesn’t jinx us.

Medications? Synthroid 0.112 1x/day;   Slow release Aspirin 1x/day;  Progesterone suppositories 4x/day; Prometrium 3x/day; Estrace 2x/day; Pre-natal vitamin 2x/day

Side effects? None really. Check out that list! I keep forgetting my progesterone pills now that I’ve got so many fewer pills to take- I’m not constantly thinking about my medication.

Sleep? Insomnia is still wreaking havoc some nights, and I think I have to acknowledge that this is now pregnancy and not prednisone related. Whatever is causing it, it is awful. Monday night I woke up at 2 a.m. and couldn’t get back to sleep. I was too out of it on Tuesday to go to school. Q. got home from work at 7.30 p.m. to discover me sitting on the floor in the kitchen surrounded by the garbage can, the vacuum, and the drawer from under the stove, wailing helplessly about the fact that there was fluff under the back of the stove that I couldn’t reach (we’re having a problem with carpet beetles and I’d just discovered that they were growing their larvae under our appliances in the areas that are impossible to clean). Q. picked me up, put me on the couch, got me a snack, tidied the kitchen, finished making dinner, and then after dinner pulled the fridge out so we could clean out the carpet beetles behind it. Have I mentioned how awesome my husband is? The only thing he said was “Poor bunny. You’re just so tired.” as he put me on the couch.

Best moment? Q. getting to tell his mum and sisters the news.

Movement? Nope.

Food cravings/aversions? Usual problem with tomatoes. Everything else is pretty much ok. I am SO lucky that I’ve been able to eat so well this first trimester.

What I miss? Sleeping normally!

What I’m looking forward to? Our twelve week ultrasound next Thursday.

Milestones? This weekend sometime we’ll drop below 200 days before my due date!

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy, Week-by-week

2 responses to “Another week!

  1. woo hoo 11 weeks!

    To put the weight gain into perspective? With O I was up 13lbs by 11 weeks. No joke – I think one week I gained 5lbs or something. You’re doing just fine if overall you’re only up 3lbs at 11w! 🙂

  2. Mel

    The first trimester is just poo. The whole thing, I hated it. The second trimester is soon upon you, and it is GLORIOUS! SO much better than the first, like a breath of fresh air really. And the weight gain? PSHSSHSHSHSHHHHH. Don’t be too hard on yourself.

    Glad to hear things are progressing uneventfully!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

