Six weeks

How far along? Six weeks today!

Total weight gained/lost? (Total weight change) -2 lbs (-2 lbs). I guess all the little meals I was eating last week didn’t add up to enough calories, even with upping my milk intake and switching from 1% to 2%. So I’ll make a conscious effort to try to eat a bit more this week.

Maternity clothes? Nope. And still no bloat!

Physical signs? Bbs still look different, but aren’t sore.

Symptoms? A heavy feeling (not cramping, just pressure) in my abdomen. No real nausea this week. Or bloat. Or constipation. Or exhaustion. Or always having to pee. Or sore bbs. Are we sure I’m pregnant? I have a terrible cold, so I spend more time thinking about my sore throat, or my stuffy/runny nose.

Emotions? Some excitement. Mostly though, unfortunately, it’s been fear. The wait for this ultrasound seems to be just DRAGGING. I’m sure I will regret saying this in later weeks, but I really wish I felt more pregnant. I think that would be reassuring.

Medications? Synthroid 0.112 4x/week, 0.100 3x/week; Metformin 500 mg 3x/day; Fragmin 2500mg 1x/day; Slow release Aspirin 1x/day; Prednisone 1x/day; Progesterone in oil shots 1x/day; Estrace 2x/day; Pre-natal vitamin 1x/day

Side effects? Still having a lot of trouble with insomnia, but I’m starting to wonder if I can really blame the prednisone, or if it is pregnancy related. Some bruising and lumps from the PIO shots. Loads of Fragmin bruising.

Sleep? Definitely a problem. I am building a huge sleep deficit, but I can’t seem to fix it. I can get to sleep without trouble, but if I get woken up I tend to be up for hours. Warm milk helps with getting to sleep, but then wakes me up when I have to use the loo.

Best moment? Having a great fourth beta and being told that I don’t have to come in again until the ultrasound. Meeting Q. at the airport later that day and being able to tell him that we were still pregnant.

Movement? n/a

Food cravings/aversions? Nothing really, although last night I cooked up a tasty pasta meal for Q. and myself and then couldn’t eat the olives or the tomatoes.

What I miss? Not worrying every five minutes about whether or not I’m still pregnant. At least with a failed cycle I knew where I stood!

What I’m looking forward to? Our first ultrasound on Friday!

Milestones? Having my hCG get over 5000!

Pregnancy admin? Successfully managed to get a midwife, and booked our first appointment. Also booked an appointment with my endocrinologist to check my TSH. Also, have taken out even more pregnancy books from the public library to add to my own collection. Because reading lots of books will help keep my baby in my uterus. Yep. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

Amusing stories from the week? My sister called us quite late on Monday night because she and her partner had suddenly realized that Q. and I have cats so toxoplasmosis might be an issue. I thought it was hilarious that she would think that I could have been trying to get pregnant for THREE years and yet still be ignorant about such things. Q. informed her that he’s on litter box duty, so I think she was satisfied. Q.’s response: “Do you think she’s going to be a helicopter-aunt?”

3 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy, Week-by-week

3 responses to “Six weeks

  1. That’s so funny you’re sister was worried about the cats. So worried they had to call you late at night to warn you, too!

    Congrats on 6 wks! I hope the wait ’til the u/s goes by more quickly for you.

  2. Wonderful, sounds like everything is going according to plan. Wish I had something to help you with the anxiety and the insomnia – perhaps you could try designing the colour scheme for the nursery as you fall asleep?

Leave a Reply

