A tale of two needles (IUI Cycle #4, Day 11)

My eggs are behaving themselves. There is a clear leader on each ovary, and one more on the right that is not so far behind. Three suits me just fine, and my fs seems happy as well. Not much to report on that- I’ll go back in on Sunday and it looks like IUIs will be sometime early-middle of next week. Possibly a couple of days after day 14, but it should still be a reasonable cycle.

I also had an appointment with my endocrinologist. This is usually a deeply frustrating experience, although at least this time he didn’t make a rude comment about my weight (I am not overweight). He did, once again, forget everything we’ve ever said in my two previous appointments, so we had to go through the whole song and dance routine about my ttcing efforts, but I’m getting used to that. I think he probably feels it’s a source of pride not to read the charts of the patients who have appointments that day. He seems to have an assistant doctor (maybe an endocrinologist-in-training?) now who did all of the work, decided what blood tests to run, and tried to interpret my history.

So first I had a conversation with him (the assistant doctor) about my cycles and what having PCOS means. He asked if I had tried to control it with losing weight (what is it with them? He just has to look at me to see I don’t need to do that!), a low-carb diet, and metformin (note that my chart says on it that I’m taking metformin).

“People with PCOS usually ovulate,” he says. “Sometimes it’s irregular, but usually they do ovulate. You never ovulate?”

“Well, I don’t know,” I said. “I was on the pill for a long time. Since coming off it, I don’t ovulate without the injectable drugs.”

“I don’t think it’s the PCOS,” he announces (is he a f/s now too?). “There must be something else. Your progesterone is low.”

I try to explain to him that the last time my progesterone was checked there I was pre-ovulation, but he doesn’t listen. When he leaves for a moment, I grab my chart and read the whole thing through carefully. Directly below my progesterone reading are the guidelines for what is normal. My progesterone was totally normal for the follicular stage of a cycle…which was where I was when I last went in. Sigh.

Then the endocrinologist comes in. “So your cycles are regular?” he asks after we’ve gone through the whole explanation of my infertility.

“When I’m pumped full of drugs, they’re fine,” I say.

“Which drugs?”

“Pu.regon. See- the one written in my chart.” (What is this, tweedle-dee and tweedle-dum??) They must get bored with normal thyroid cases. Maybe that explains why they insist on running ALL the blood tests to do with fertility every time I’m in there. Gives them something else to do.

Eventually I escape to the blood labs where I have a massive fight with the woman when she tells me that my doctor never copies his results to any other doctors. I tell her that I asked him to send all the results to my f/s and he agreed. We exchange more words, but eventually I win- I think. I’ll have to check with my f/s next week to make sure they were actually sent over.

But what really pissed me off today was I lost the fight to have a butterfly needle at both the clinic and the hospital. Both times I was told, “You don’t need a butterfly needle- you have great veins!” Both times the needle hurt like anything going in. Both times they had me press down with the cottonball afterwards, and then they inspected the site, patted me on the arm and said I’d be fine.

If you guessed that I am sporting massive blue bruises in the crooks of both my arms, you’d be right. I don’t know where they’re going to get blood on Sunday, but I am never letting anyone stick me again unless it’s with a butterfly needle. I look like a bloody drug addict.

2 Comments

Filed under Medical issues, Medications, ttc

2 responses to “A tale of two needles (IUI Cycle #4, Day 11)

  1. I totally would have screamed at your doctors. Seriously. Oh MY GOODNESS!! Are you kidding me? I would have screamed.

    I love the butterfly needle. I was also told to drink LOTS of water before hand to help with the blood draws. So when I get to the dr, I chug a large cup of water. That helps some with the bruising.

    I’m hoping this cycle works for you!!

  2. I have trouble every single time they take blood. For my pg test, they gave up on my arms and took it from my hand, which hurt like hell. There is always a threat that I will have to “go downstairs” from my RE’s office to have someone else try, but then they finally get it after like the third stick. Sigh. So I know how that feels. As for your doctor’s appointment…well you are a very patient person. I can’t imagine why they would say most PCOS patients ovulate — I have never heard anything like that before. If most PCOS patients ovulate, why is it one of the leading causes of IF? Anyway, thinking of you and hoping and praying that this is your cycle so you can stop dealing with these people!

Leave a Reply

