8w3d- ultrasound #3

Today was one of those days that made me realize how glad I will be to be free of the clinic.

Q. had forgotten that I had an intralipid infusion this morning and that he had agreed to be at home with E. So I was under pressure to get home in time for him to get to work so he wouldn’t miss a meeting.

Given my intralipid was at 8:30 a.m., I made sure to be at the clinic for 6:50 a.m. so I could be the very first person on the list to see my f/s. That way I could get the ultrasound done, see him, get my meds, and then go over to the IVF suite for the intralipid infusion.

It was a great plan…until my doctor didn’t get in before 8:30 a.m. (which is not all that surprising, although it was hugely frustrating). So I did the ultrasound, waited fruitlessly to see him, gave up and got my drugs, went over to the IVF suite, did the intralipid, went back over to the main part of the clinic, and got put back on the top of the pile to see him. And then it took another FORTY minutes for him to turn up and spend three minutes discussing my chart. That meant I had to take a cab home, and I was still ten minutes late, so I don’t know if Q. got up to work in time for the staff meeting.

All told I was at that clinic from 6:50 until 11:20 a.m.

I will be glad to see the end of that.

Good news on the ultrasound front- baby was measuring a week further along than last week (at 8w2d), so s/he is growing well. Heartbeat was still strong (148 bpm). Second sac was still just hanging out. The blood clot was still there and was bigger than last week, but my doctor feels it’s “stabilized” (whatever that means), so he doesn’t seem to be too worried about it. He did tell me to keep minimizing lifting E. until we hit the twelve week mark.

He told me to stop the prednisone (which means I’m going to be a lot more tired as I’ve realized this past week that the days where I don’t take prednisone I want to pass out from about 2 p.m. onwards) and to start weaning off the Metformin. I don’t have to go back for two weeks now. It’ll be a relief not to have our lives interrupted, although of course I’ll miss the reassurance that all is well with the baby.

3 Comments

Filed under 2.0 Pregnancy, Medications, My addled brain, Sleep, Ultrasounds

3 responses to “8w3d- ultrasound #3

  1. Glad all is well! Can definitely relate to juggling these days. Pregnancy feels like another job in addition to being a mom and my paying work. But all worth it in the end! Are you planning to see an MFM/peri? I had a good long scan last week with mine and what was helpful was she took a long look at my SCH really close up and figured out that some was actual blood clot and some was normal “flow.” I always think I know everything about this process and then learn something new like that….

  2. so glad the appointment went well!!

  3. So glad it’s going well!!!

Leave a Reply

